Liptovská Lúžna is a unique 6 km long village situated in the western part of the Low Tatras below the peaks Prašivá and Salatín in the Lúžňanská basin (Lúžňanská kotlina).
The village belonged to the castle Likavka. It was founded by Štefan Thököly in the year 1669 and inhabited by the population originally coming from the northern Orava region. In the 18. century especially gold was mined below the peak Prašivá. Domestic population later migrated for work to Western European mines.
Characteristic log cabin houses with shingled roofs are still very well preserved in the village. Unique local traditions, ceremonies, games, dances and songs can be recognized in the photographs and documentaries of Karol Plicka. The tradition of wearing folk costumes is still followed by some local people.
The village is a very rewarding tourist destination and a suitable starting point for walks/hikes to the Salatín region, Prašivá, Magurka and to the main ridge up to the mountain saddle Skalka.